Late LFW post- Ashish

On the fifth day of fashion week I wasn’t actually going to go down to Somerset house, it was my last full day in London so I wanted to be a proper tourist, but I’m glad I did. I got papped, met some celebs and got to have a final farewell to LFW A/W11!

Despite not having an invitation I got into the Ashish show at the BFC Show space, standing room only and saw some pretty edgy designs as well as going celeb spotting of course. Before the show began I noticed a big buzz around centre front row and using sharp elbows I got to the front and found these two ladies

Image from We are not Robots

Yep it was the amazingly dressed Paloma Faith and Marina Diamandis from Marina and the Diamonds. I’ve loved both girls since they first broke into the music industry (Marina slightly before) so was so happy that Marina was polite and down to earth. Unfortunately Paloma was a lot less courteous and just seemed as though she couldn’t be bothered to talk to me. I took a brilliant shot of Marina but lost all my photos on my memory card.

Another famous face I spotted was The Telegraph’s Fashion Editor Hilary Alexander, she is a huge inspiration to me so I was far too nervous to actually speak to her!

Onto the show

Images from Catwalking

Sequined tartan featured heavily in the collection, the models looked broken down and raw with Spiderweb designs on their knees, not quite straight distressed hair and nude makeup. Pieces that weren’t sequined and/or tartan were woolly with huge holes which in all honesty I wasn’t a big fan of but that’s because I like to imagine how catwalk can filter down to high street and I just didn’t see this being successful. My favourite look was the sequined skeleton jumper with red tartan straight legged, baggy trousers as the look felt edgy punky and more than a little bit raw.

After the show, coming from seemingly a different show but I haven’t found which show she was at yet, I spotted one of my favourite stars of 2010.

At the Mulberry show, image from Karen Gillan Web

It was Doctor who’s Karen Gillan! If you know me well you will know that I am a massive whovian so this was one of my most surreal fashion moments. We had a casual chat about LFW and fashion with me shaking a lot, she noticed this and gave me a hug. She was so gracious and cute, she really made me smile.

I think this is finally the last of the LFW posts, I really hope I can make it to next season

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in Celeb view, Exclusives/ Firstlooks, Fashion, this week i... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

