Black Swan

I’ve been meaning to write this for a week now, but last Friday I went to see Black Swan with my friends from Literature and loved it so much.

I won’t spoil it for those who haven’t seen it but the story follows a young Ballerina who has just been given the principal role in Swan Lake. She has already perfected the role of the white swan but struggles with the toughness of its evil twin the Black Swan. Through the course of the film she scarily becomes more and more like the evil swan with a rough exterior and ruthless on the inside as Nina (played by Natalie Portman) becomes more psychologically disturbed. I described it at one point as “disgustingly beautiful” which I think sums it up amazingly well.The acting was brilliant, Natalie definately deserves the Best Actress Oscar for it, but also from support cast Mila Kunis, Vincent Cassel and Barbara Hershey.Of course though what stood out were the costumes, the rough edginess of the black swan, the beautiful lines of the white swan and typically sweet ballet outfits. I can see why Ballet is making a comeback after this film. In fact the only thing I didn’t enjoy were the sexual scenes, don’t get me wrong I’m not a prude I just didn’t think it was necessary in the storyline.

I absolutely adored the film, Mila Kunis is my new style crush. Have you seen it? What did you think?

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in Celeb view, Fashion, this week i... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Black Swan

  1. illusclaire says:

    I really don’t know how similar the plot or themes are, but if you like the black/white ballerina visuals you should look out the series “Princess Tutu”. I’ve heard only good things about the story.

  2. IdaPida says:

    haven’t seen it, but it’s on my must see list.
    😀 definitely

  3. Amy CT says:

    I strongly disagree – for once in my life! 😉

    Having trained in classical ballet for years, it was refreshing to see a film so honest about the difficulty involved in training; I only did point work for two years twice a week and my feet are screwed up for life (“never let your kids do ballet” is my motto in life) – but the rest of it was… odd.

    YES, it’s hard to get into character without loosening up – but that’s always the case. The gratuitous sex and confusion left me feeling (frankly) like I’d been beaten around the head by a ballerina weilding a brick.

    Fun 😉

Leave a Reply

