Atonement

I love period drama’s; the difference in society, the inevitable scandal and of course the costumes all have me gripped.

Atonement is a film I have been meaning to see for three years now and only during the Christmas break did I get a chance to watch it. I’m not going to spoil the story for any of you that haven’t seen it or read the book, so here is IMDB’s synopisis

Fledgling writer Briony Tallis, as a 13-year-old, irrevocably changes the course of several lives when she accuses her older sister’s lover of a crime he did not commit. Based on the British romance novel by Ian McEwan.

The film itself is beautifully made, with exquisite costumes, scenery and of course with a cast comprising of Keira Knightly, James McAvoy, Saoirse Ronan, Juno Temple and Benedict Cumberbatch it is incredicly well acted.

I wanted to show you just how visually stunning the film is

I absolutely love Briony’s imagination, until it gets her into real trouble that is.

Chain smoking aside, there is no denying that Keira plays an amazing role in this

This is the most visually stunning scene in the whole film, in my opinion. You can feel the tension between the characters and it is again very pleasing to the eye (in a none pervy “Oo! Keira’s getting wet” sort of way)

James McAvoy and Keira Knightly have amazing chemistry, the passion and saddness came through brilliantly in this scene

I love Benedict Cumberbatch, however I’ve never really been that aware of Juno Temple. The red curls are so eye catching and she portrays a teen who has to grow up quickly very well. Cumberfetch is just an old pervert in this film but his accent makes me melt.

Eighteen year old Briony is played by Romola Garai, who although doesn’t do such a great job as Saoirse, manages to portray the remorsefullness of her character very well.

The emerald green dress worn by Keira was voted the best film costume of all time- above Audrey Hepburn’s Breakfast at Tiffany’s black shift dress and Marilyn Monroe’s white dress in The Seven Year Itch. I am quite frankly shocked by this but I do love it.

My favourite outfit was Lola’s fascinator and “woman about town” suit, so flattering and fitted yet still very true to the period.

I also have the book but am yet to read it, I am sure that I will report back

Love as always

x

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in Celeb view, Fashion, I love that shoot, Random Babbling, Recommendations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Atonement

  1. YOU MUST READ IT.

    The film and book are closer than any I’ve seen before, but the film will never be as beautiful as the book is – even if it’s slow going at first.

    Love x

  2. Ohmygoodness. I love love love this film. I saw it much later too and loved everything about it although I am a big fan of both Keira and James. It was almost too beautiful and the story made me cry. I actually need to buy it on dvd so I can watch it over and over again. Wonderful post.

    Carol x
    http://www.mystylisms.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

