Goodbye 2010

I actually cannot believe it is nearly 2011! This year has been absolutely huge for so many reasons, mainly good with some bad thrown in, but it has really flown by. I wanted to share with you all some of my highlights of 2010 but also look forward to next year.

The trips

Although my fashion journey is just starting out I have had the opportunity to go to some lovely events and places this year, all within my own country admittedly but that doesn’t matter to me. I’ve met and revisited some lovely friends along the way and indeed made some new ones. Each trip has brought amazing and often bizarre first experiences; from twister in York gardens, meeting the where’s wally fan club to hanging out with models in the BNTM press area I’ve loved every minute.

BSB

On the very first day of 2010 I joined British Style Bloggers as an intern, I also helped launch and run Body Image season. When that ran it’s course I became a columnist, then in a very short space of time I was promoted to Secondary Editor. At the time I couldn’t believe this but I know now Amy saw something in me which I was blind to. Thanks to BSB and Amy I have evolved even more as a writer and person.

Inspiration

A big part of keeping this blog going all throughout the year for me has been my inspirations, may these have been people who have triumphed over their illness or just things in the outside world that made me smile they all did the trick. I started this blog as something to focus on as I was emerging from a very dark time in my life and having such experiences behind me has given me a desire to help others feel as good about themselves as they could. This is why I started Miss Polkadot’s Kick Arse Females a series which instead of helping women change, gave them the fuel to praise what was already there.

The Outfits

1. BNTM press 2. The jeans shocker 3. All work and no play 4. Rare prize 5. LDN look 6. Blue clothes, happy heart

You all have no idea how long it took me to whittle this down to just 6 favourite outfits from the past year but these were the ones that really stuck in my mind for different reasons. These were the outfits I wore to my first press event, at a turning point in my life, when I stepped out of my comfort zone and which just made me smile from ear to ear.

Celeb style

My best dressed celeb of the year was quite easily Carey Mulligan, she’s hugely talented and so elegant. But lets not also forget Katy Perry’s grown up photoshoot in the midst of the California Gurls madness or my favourite Saturday (there I said it I have a favourite Saturday!) Una Healy, who unlike the other girls knows that beauty is best understated.

The moments which changed my life

Although I’m writing this last, this selection was actually the easiest to choose. This year I decided that my life was going to change and only I could make that happen. To get the ball rolling I returned to college and then was motivated to apply for university. November 4th marked my 5th anniversary of being diagnosed with Lupus, to raise awareness for the illness and to celebrate being alive I held Butterfly day, the response to which was completely overwhelming. And finally my proudest moment of 2010 which has definitely made my year has to be winning the Evening Chronicle’s Undergraduate Young Achiever Award. It’s finally starting to sink in that I really did win it and I am amazingly thankful.

And finally… the silly things


Myself and Amy CT watched this video far too much this year, including a lot over of York weekend

The most beautifully charming man of the year award goes to Mr Charley Speed. There was a connection between the two of us, I know it.

My BSB bio, personally I think this should be my about me in daily life.

And that’s your lot for 2010, I hope you all have a great time seeing the new year in and that next year is kind to you. Remember if you want to make your dreams reality in 2011 only you can make that happen

Love as always

Rachel

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in BSB, Celeb view, Fashion, inspiration, Random Babbling, this week i..., What I'm wearing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodbye 2010

  1. I honest to God can’t believe I’ve only known you a year. I can’t imagine my life without you in it anymore, darling!

    “At the time I couldn’t believe this but I know now Amy saw something in me which I was blind to.”

    — Damn right, I did! 🙂

    Also, I bloody hate pears 😉

    • Rachel says:

      Same sweetie its going to be weird when you move abroad cos youll be in a different timezone!

      Whatever you do, do not let me eat pears, I HATE PEARS

Leave a Reply

