Undergraduate Young Achiever of the year

I’m sure if you follow me on twitter (which you probably should by the way) you will already know my amazing news but for those who don’t here goes.

A few week ago I was nominated for the Evening Chronicle’s Young Achiever Awards 2010 by my brilliant mentor at college and was shocked enough when the call came through telling me I’d made it to the final three of my category, Undergraduate Achievement.

That meant I was invited to the awards at the Newcastle Hilton. We were treated to a three course meal and the awards were hosted by local radio DJ’s Steve Furnell and Karen Wright. There were ten categories in total and mine was sixth meaning by the time it came round I was almost having kittens. So who’s ready for the announcement?

I am now Rachel Charlton, The Evening Chronicle’s Undergraduate Young Achiever 2010!

I got a framed certificate and Trophy as well as a cheque for £500 for winning.

I was absolutely gobsmacked, a sure sign of shock for me! My award was presented to me by The editor of The Evening Chronicle. Speaking of which The awards also featured in the newspaper today.

The story was covered on the front of the paper and inside for those of you that can’t buy the Chronicle you can read it HERE.

In the centre of the newspaper was a special pull out with each award on one page, including my full story. Unfortunately this wasn’t on the site so I will try and scan it tomorrow.

I also won £500 which although is absolutely lovely, I would’ve been happy with or without the money.I still can’t believe that I won this, all I have ever wanted to do was to help others through my own experiences and passion so to be recognised for this in the presence of so many inspiring young people was truly inspiring.

 

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in Fashion, inspiration, this week i... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Undergraduate Young Achiever of the year

  1. ladderedtights says:

    Well done! x

  2. Congratulations darling; you deserve this more than you will ever know. x

  3. You are amazing sweetheart 🙂
    Very well done.

    Florrie x

  4. Helen says:

    That is amazing! Bloody well done, I like what you bought ^^.

    Helen, x
    http;//areyoudressingupordressingdown.blogspot.com

  5. Rachel says:

    Thank you all so much!

  6. Pingback: Goodbye 2010 | Polkadot Rach

Leave a Reply

