Thou shall not covet thy neighbours coat

Forgive me father for I have sinned, again. I have committed a mortal sin. Don’t worry, I didn’t murder anyone or anything. But I am guilty of coveting my neighbour’s possessions.

I have fell in love, with a coat that is above me (well in price range terms anyway). Quite pathetically this is not the first time this has happened, see for example the Jane Norman coat of 2008.

The absolute best photo that I could find of me wearing the coat.

In November of 2008, when I was admittedly in quite a good paying job, I became infatuated with the above Jane Norman coat. Despite the fact that it was £90 I had to have it, suffice to say I was stung by the cruel had of fate a few weeks later when they not only released a more beautiful red version of the coat, but reduced it by twenty pounds. Then a month later in the post christmas sales it went to half price. Oh how I sobbed.

The treasured coat still serves me well, but I now have a new object of my desires.

This, my friends is the Hankie Hem Coat and it’s £59 from New Look. I first spotted it on a girl’s back in Starbucks a couple of week ago so was overjoyed when I found it just a few shops later. I love the girly hemline mixed with the military style top half.

I think the pleating and hankie hem at the back is beautiful, maybe not perfect for the cold weather but definitely for shopping when the snow goes.

After I was stung last year though I have decided to refrain from buying the coat until after the post Christmas sales. Because knowing my luck if I didn’t it would go half price or even cheaper.

I want to end today on an incredibly happy note. After recieving a Merit for my English Language essay last week, which I was pleased with I was thrilled to have earned a Distinction grade in English Literature today. If I had the money I would have bought it as a “congratulations for being brainy” gift to myself!

*The title of this post was inspired by Bunny’s Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s… series.

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Lust-haves, What I'm wearing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thou shall not covet thy neighbours coat

  1. Amy CT says:

    Congratulations, darling, you’re a star! 🙂

    I love that coat, too, I have to say – mine only cost me £8 in a sale this summer, so I might have to use the Next vouchers I’m accumulating to buy a new one in the January sales! 🙂

    My presents to myself when I do well in tests are always from Fancie. cupcakes in our Union. They’re £2, so expensive for cakes, but so so so good! 🙂 x

  2. Pingback: Presents to me | Mon Polkadot Cheri

  3. Pingback: And swiiiiish! | Polkadot Rach

  4. Bunny Darke says:

    Very glad to read that you now own the coveted coat. Well done on holding out for the sales. Keep coveting! x

Leave a Reply

