Butterfly Day TODAY

Last week I announced that today I was holding Butterfly Day but I never expected the amazing response I received. If you’ve never head of Lupus or the symptoms please Take a look at the Lupus Uk site

Today is quite a big day for me, five years ago on 4th November I was diagnosed with Lupus. Like a lot of chronic illnesses their is no cure for Lupus but it can be controlled with medication. The key to helping people cope and to raise awareness though is knowledge. So that’s why I decided that today instead of moping about the fact that this has happened I decided to celebrate that I am alive. Because I’m lucky enough to have some lovely readers and fashion friends, today was a big success.

I was at college all day so I couldn’t wear big fairy wings like I’d have loved to so instead I wore the floatiest dress I owned; this mink floral one and lacy tights. I found this lovely brooch in Past Times in Newcastle last week and couldn’t resist buying it. This is technically my sister’s hand but I drew the butterfly with eye liner. I use this London Notebook for making fashion notes when I get a sudden surge of inspiration, it seems a little butterfly landed on it though.

As I mentioned my lovely friends and family got involved too, even my aunt who dislikes butterflies! Here’s some of their lovely posts

My dear Sarah wrote lyrics from She’s a butterfly by Martina McBride along with her butterflies, and yes there are two because as she says “because Rachel is not alone. I don’t have Lupus, but I still suport her!”


Sarah also thought one butterfly wasn’t enough so even though she had Ecology lectures and practicals she wore all these butterflies!

Leia’s home came under seige by a little fluttering creature.  You can see more images and a lovely outfit post on her blog

Like me, Amy CT has a red rash on her face and neck- but this is as she has Psoriasis. When I tweeted that I wasn’t covering my butterfly rash with make up today she stood by me and said she wouldn’t cover up her rash either. More than anything today is about being proud of who I am so I’m happy this has spread to Amy too.

Susie showed us some of her favourite butterfly inspired things, check out her post for lots of lovely pictures too

Sarah from Bliss Bubbley found this cute temporary tattoo!

This one really choked me up, my cousin S who is still in secondary school got some of her friends involved and they all drew coloured butterflies on their hands. Her friends have never even met me but when they were all asked what the butterflies were for they happily spread the Lupus story. Who say’s all teens are thoughtless?

And finally a couple of friends tweeted me the butterflies they have proudly sported

My friend Steph lives on the other side of the world but still took part for me. Steph is the amazing force behind the twitter campaign Report Don’t Reply against twitter bullying.

Gem’s is an infant school teacher (almost my old career!) so lots of her kids commented on her brightly coloured offering.

And finally this is my friend Naomi’s, she has health problems herself so it means alot that she did this.

I want to thank everyone who got involved even in the slightest way. You’ve really helped raise awareness for Lupus.

I didn’t want to mention this but I’m disgusted that I have received a few negative comments about this, I’m proud of any small contribution I have made to raising awareness of Lupus no matter what.

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in Exclusives/ Firstlooks, Fashion, inspiration, this week i... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Butterfly Day TODAY

  1. fashion girls says:

    It wasn’t a success at all, the only people who took part in it were ALREADY AWARE.

  2. Sarah says:

    I think I got too excited with the butterflies. Sorry Rachel! (not really 😉 )

    And don’t ever feel alone. Look at all of the support you have! But remember that I’ll always be here for you. Ever have any problems, jsut give me a call. I’ll be up & awake (haven’t gone to bed before 2 am yet). You don’t always have to be drunk you know 😉

    Love you, and Happy Flutterbyday 🙂 xx

  3. ^^ Exactly what Sarah said 🙂 Love you xxx

  4. Becky says:

    I’ve only just seen this but wanted to say how great an idea I think it is. I am currently seeing a consultant and they are thinking I have Lupus or Fibromyalgia (sp?) so doing lots of tests etc. Inspirational idea to raise awareness xx

  5. Sarah Cairns says:

    rachel, thanks for adding my photo of me and friends to your page 🙂 you deserve it all, no need to thank us. keep it up 🙂 much love xxxxxxxxx

  6. queeniejelly says:

    Dear ‘fashion girls’

    I would like to refer you to this part of Rachel’s blog:

    This one really choked me up, my cousin S who is still in secondary school got some of her friends involved and they all drew coloured butterflies on their hands. Her friends have never even met me but when they were all asked what the butterflies were for they happily spread the Lupus story. Who say’s all teens are thoughtless?

    If you read it carefully, you will see that her cousin’s friends were not aware of Lupus, but took up the cause, and helped to raise awareness. So your vitriol was erroneous. When dealing with a rare illness, educating one person is a success, let alone a whole group.

    Many of us who have little know illnesses have good friends, but never actually explain, in depth, the complications we face every day. Sometimes we need to raise awareness for those who already know us, by being open with them. It can be hard to do, or it may be that we don’t want the illness to impact on yet another part of our lives, and so we keep it to ourselves.

    You also act as though being supported by your friends and family is a failure. Being loved is a great sign of success – success in being a good person.

    Maybe you would embarrass yourself less by taking the time to read things properly, rather than spilling your venom all over the internet. Equally, you might find that taking the time to help others makes you a nicer person, rather than someone who feels the need to tear down those who do try to make a difference. If you have enough time to be cruel, you have enough time to do some voluntary work.

    Rachel is a kind, caring, talented woman. No amount of sniping will change that, unfortunately for you.

  7. Emily says:

    Well done brave girly. I posted too. Here: http://sugarandspice-shopgirl.blogspot.com/2010/11/butterfly-day.html Hope you’ve had a good day xx

  8. Sarah says:

    If you want to see what I got up to when celebrating Flutterbyday and supporting Rach, check out my latest post: http://myscarlettlady.onsugar.com/Shes-butterfly-11807230?page=0,0#comment-7965023
    Tell me what you think! Tell me what you did. Thank you!

  9. Susie says:

    Glad that you got so much support, Rachel! Look how loved you are!

  10. fashion girls says:

    Thanks everyone for taking the time to reply to all of us because the blogger posted about our comment on Twitter. But just so you know, we won’t be reading any of them.

    Signed,
    The “Haters”.

    • Sarah says:

      *sigh* Still not able to read? If you looked at the clock, mine was BEFORE she wrote on Twitter. But if you noticed that you’ll also note that I wrote that I bite, so continue being your rude, selfish self and I’ll have a lot of fun proving just how wrong you are.
      Your call.

  11. Leia says:

    Hi lovely,
    Sorry I’m getting back to you so late. Thank you so much for organising this, and I’m so glad to have been able to help in a small way to spread awareness and support you and other people who suffer from Lupus. I can’t believe you’ve had negative feedback, that makes me feel really sick to my stomach, but remember for the one nasty person there are loads of other who love and support you! xx

  12. queeniejelly says:

    I think we’re probably all agreed that ‘fashion girls’ aren’t “Haters”, they’re ignorant, spiteful cowards.
    Probably best to ignore them from now on, and cut off their parasitic lifeline. Misery loves company, which is why they try to drag other people down to their sour, vicious level.

    Keep your chin up, Rach. And remember that you and your work are important to far more people than would ever care about them and their opinions xx

  13. Pingback: Sunday Smile | Mon Polkadot Cheri

  14. Pingback: Goodbye 2010 | Polkadot Rach

Leave a Reply

