Scarlet Ribbons- I love local vintage

Whilst in Durham on Sunday with my dear friend Sophie I discovered a lovely little Vintage and retro shop in the city centre.

A shop which has polka dot dresses as the door display is sure to attract my attention at any cost. But stepping inside was an even nicer surprise.

Scarlet Ribbons is gorgeously kooky and fun with a big mix of vintage clothes, fun sunglasses and kitsch accessories. Within the big jumble of clothes were lovely tables laid full of jewellery, brooches, glasses and a variety of things holding them.

A lot of the things I would have in my crazy mismatched room, such as these Perspex heads which held hats, glasses and fascinators

On top of all of that was a full wall of a huge variety of sunglasses from 80’s Rayban’s to kooky 50’s style ones

How cute does Sophie look in these little pink Barbie style specs?!

So of course I made a purchase, although I wasn’t in the market for more Vintage pieces I could resist some kooky jewellery. I love this Domino ring, and its abjustable to suit you.

Sadly the owners were off in London –but at least they’d have brought back some lovely new stock-so their lovely friend answered most of my questions about what influenced the styling of the shop. I’d describe it as a really cool Aunt’s house; the sort who left uni years ago but kept a hold of all her old things and loves to share them!

You can find the shop just off Framwelgate Bridge or on their website, they also have a Facebook. Be sure to check them out if you’re ever in Durham, I know I will be every time I’m there!

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in Fashion, I love local Vintage, Lust-haves, this week i... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

