Miss Polkadot’s Kick Arse Females

It’s almost September, the month of change and new beginnings and I don’t know about you but I feel like I have very little over the summer so here’s where it ends. The time has come ladie’s the world is changing, the blogsphere is changing. but not always in a good way. I mean when did it become acceptable for internet bullying, posting half naked outfit shots of ourselves and to treat other ladies in the disgusting manner we would hate if it was directed at ourselves.

Introducing

Over the next few weeks I will be bringing you posts about everything that makes a girl truly amazing, by being just her. These will feature the six main areas

  • Freedom
  • Inspiration
  • Beauty
  • Truth
  • Happiness
  • Confidence

Of course this won’t be all me telling you how to live your life; that would be contradicting the movement completely. I’d love to hear from you all; you can comment the posts, write about it on your own blogs, tweet me using the tag #kickarsefemale, or even email me using the be involved tab. I want to know what truly makes you the amazing girl you are today.

To get us started though I thought I’d leave you a few questions to answer

  1. When are you at your happiest?
  2. What is your favourite part of your body?
  3. what are you least confident about? (looks or personality)
  4. Are you comfortable going to a place where no-one knows you?
  5. What would you like to improve on about yourself?
  6. Which female celebs do you look up to and why?

I shall leave my answers in a comment below, can’t wait to hear from you all!

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in Celeb view, Fashion, inspiration, Two-penneth. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Miss Polkadot’s Kick Arse Females

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’m sure you’ll be able to work out who this is Rachel and my email will give it away if nothing else does, but my answer to No3 will partially explain why I find it hard to divulge personal stuff like this.

    1) When I’m feeling well by my standards and am having a lovely time being sociable with nice people.
    2) Lips.
    3) Everything. Sad but true. I have been made to feel completely and utterly worthless for a long period of time but though I’m in a better situation now it takes time to heal.
    4) Well I’ve been pretty good this year meeting new people. 🙂 But I have to have someone who knows about my disability or simply be deposited in a building by someone who does and then collected later.
    5) My health. Also my weight, but I’m slowly and steadily getting there despite things being stacked against me. Medication made me put on weight very quickly at one point and I couldn’t do anything about it which is so frustrating! I wish I was more assertive for myself and my rights. I want to be back to where I was before my injury and not neglect the things I used to love doing.
    6) I don’t really know. Hardly a ‘celeb’ but Mother Teresa was pretty amazing it has to be said.

  2. Rachel says:

    Anon
    SOD THE HATERS, I do know you and you are an amazing person. This will be an important piece in the movement thanks for reminding me!

  3. Gem says:

    1. When are you at your happiest?
    When I’m in bed, at night, curled up with my huge big duvet and my pillows, watching a DVD. I have to have a DVD or music on to be able to get to sleep; I get through a LOT of DVDs that way =P
    2. What is your favourite part of your body?
    It’s a very close call between Harry and Nikki (My lovely lady lumps. Blame Silent Witness) or my face. I like to think I’ve got a nice and friendly face =D
    3. what are you least confident about? (looks or personality)
    Looks, definitely. People don’t always see past the way I look and actually see what I’m like as a person, which is really sad.
    4. Are you comfortable going to a place where no-one knows you?
    Nope. I get really paranoid that people are staring at me, which is so self centred, I know, but I get really freaked out about this.
    5. What would you like to improve on about yourself?
    To be more confident in my own skin. Which isn’t exactly an easy prospect, but hey ho
    6. Which female celebs do you look up to and why?
    Emilia Fox, because she’s gorgeous and stylish but makes it look effortless. Beth Ditto, because she blates doesn’t give a shit what other people think about her.

  4. Amy CT says:

    Gemma, I bloody love you. Only you could name your boobs Harry and Nikki. ;D

    – When are you at your happiest?
    When I have a cup of tea, a quiet room, and a LOT of research to do. Sounds odd, but it’s true!

    – What is your favourite part of your body?
    Oh, God, tough one! Um, maybe eyes? For want of something to say!

    – What are you least confident about? (looks or personality)
    Looks, definitely!

    – Are you comfortable going to a place where no-one knows you?
    That depends entirely on the situation!

    – What would you like to improve on about yourself?
    Ability not to freak out in large public situations

    – Which female celebs do you look up to and why?
    Like Gem, I love Emilia Fox, for her style, but I also admire Taylor Swift (for speaking out through lyrics), and Natalie Maines, an American country singer who made a stand against Bush and the Iraq war, and stuck by it, even when people started burning her records. Natalie Maines is actually a Goddess.

  5. ladderedtights says:

    When are you at your happiest?
    – either with a small group of my friends on a little road trip or after a successful shopping trip.

    What is your favourite part of your body?
    – probably my lower legs. They’re quite slim and I can get away with wearing short hemlines!

    what are you least confident about? (looks or personality)
    – My face in general. I absolutely hate my nose and chin. My self esteem is definitely lowered because of them.

    Are you comfortable going to a place where no-one knows you?
    – Not really, because I know that everyone judges no matter if you don’t mean to, and I get too paranoid. If at least one person I know is there, I’m not too bad. otherwise, I am quite awkward.

    What would you like to improve on about yourself?
    – as previously mentioned, my nose and chin. Oh and I hate my arms so much! I have stupidly long, weird, orangatang arms, eurgh!

    Which female celebs do you look up to and why?
    – Katy Perry has a lovely body! It suits her so much. However, trying to look like Katy Perry is near impossible because (well she’s Katy Perry!) and for me, I lack in the chest region! :’)
    I’d love to have Katy’s confidence too.

  6. Rachel says:

    thanks everyone so far, keep em coming I love reading them.

    1.When are you at your happiest?
    Driving in my best friends car singing along to the music loudly or at a gig

    2. What is your favourite part of your body?
    I love my eyes as they’re so blue, my fingers because they’re really long and especially my bum despite it’s size!

    3. what are you least confident about? (looks or personality)
    It’s took alot to come to terms with my looks, I hate the way my brain thinks sometimes most though.

    4. Are you comfortable going to a place where no-one knows you?
    Yes because its a fresh change, practically everyone knows me where I live so going someone different is nice, social situations can be quite good and great for networking if you’re alone I think. But then there’s always alot of fun to be had with friends

    5. What would you like to improve on about yourself?
    My manners, being from the north east I can be quite abrupt when speaking in professional situations, I’m not ashamed of who I am I just wish others would accept it.

    6. Which female celebs do you look up to and why?
    Billie Piper, she’s had her problems and has gotten over them, shes successful well liked and damn pretty. She’s definitely a kick arse female!

  7. Polly says:

    1. When are you at your happiest?
    Avec friends, a tiny bit tipsy, just talking about life.
    2. What is your favourite part of your body?
    Can we have lots of parts? Eyes (but not the circles), hair, waist, wrists and ankles.
    3. what are you least confident about? (looks or personality)
    My arms, my dark circles, thighs and tummy.
    4. Are you comfortable going to a place where no-one knows you?
    Depends what it is. I can do it happily, but “comfortable” takes a while.
    5. What would you like to improve on about yourself?
    Stock answer: lose weight. Be more open minded, get more of a social life. The usual!
    6. Which female celebs do you look up to and why?
    I can’t say there are any I really “look up to”. The fact that they are celebrities makes me cynical of them. Yes, I am a bad person.

  8. Emma says:

    1.When are you at your happiest?
    With people I care about, having a cosy night in or amaze night out.

    2.What is your favourite part of your body?
    My eyes, and I am strangly proud of my chest!

    3.what are you least confident about? (looks or personality)
    A lot to be honest. My hair never does what I want it to do, I feel too short and too chubby, my legs feel too chunky and an outfit that looks perfect in my head always seems a let down.
    I also feel like a moron a lot, feel like I say the wrong thing and not fun or cool or awesome enough.

    4.Are you comfortable going to a place where no-one knows you?
    I never used to, but uni is such a kick in the arse that it gets a lot easier. I can still be a nervous bunny though.

    5.What would you like to improve on about yourself?
    My personal self confidence. I want to look in the mirror and like what I see. I want to be comfy in my own skin.

    6.Which female celebs do you look up to and why?
    Katy Perry, because she’s just fabulous.
    Florence Welch because she’s not conventionally pretty but her fashion style is just rad.
    Helena Bonham Carter, for being quirky and unique.
    And Hayley Williams, for teaching us that airplanes in the night sky can always be shooting stars if the song is overdone enough 😉

  9. Susan says:

    What a great initiative you’re starting!

    1. When are you at your happiest? With friends, when inspired (usually late at night or early in the morning), cuddling with my puppy during his less-rambunctious moments, and during moments when I am working and really loving what I am doing.
    2. What is your favourite part of your body? I like my face and my shoulders and I am actually crazy about my eyebrows (kind of random, I know!).
    3. what are you least confident about? (looks or personality) Looks-wise, my ass. People always say that bootilicious=good, but I still hate it. Personality wise–I can foot-in-mouth sometimes, so I tend to be a bit insecure about that.
    4. Are you comfortable going to a place where no-one knows you? Usually–I really enjoy meeting new people. Although, depending upon the situation, I can find it a bit stressful, or a little uncomfortable, or tiring.
    5. What would you like to improve on about yourself? I think I can be a little uptight sometimes, and I tend to worry a lot, so I would definitely like to work on that. I am also completely disorganized…
    6. Which female celebs do you look up to and why? 1) Miranda Kerr–I really love what she is doing with her Kora organic line and her forthcoming book about self-esteem/positive affirmations for young girls. 2) Goldie Hawn, because she is beautiful and marches to the beat of her own drum, with sass, style and a big smile! 3) Diane Keaton for reasons similar to Goldie’s (plus she is one of my favorite actresses). 4). And, Audrey Hepburn, of course, because of her style and grace.

  10. Joyful says:

    1. When are you at your happiest?
    When I’m dancing about, I don’t care what anyone thinks, I just love to dance.
    2.What is your favourite part of your body?
    I like my eyes and my smile. I’m also developing a fondness for my legs as some of the squidge seems to have been replaced with firmness recently.
    3. what are you least confident about? (looks or personality)
    I hate my stomach. I used to have such rolls, and I still hate it being touched or looked at. I also hate my posture, I wish I’d been nagged as a child to stand up straight because now it’s so difficult to get into the habit, however pathetic that sounds.
    4.Are you comfortable going to a place where no-one knows you?
    I actually love being unknown. I love change, moving on, having a fresh start. I can’t help but feel thrilled that no-one can judge me on more than a first impression. I guess it’s because if they don’t know the real me inside and they make judgements, it doesn’t feel like it’s me they’re not liking.
    5.What would you like to improve on about yourself?
    Well apart from standing up straight, I want to learn more. I have been feeling a little down recently and tried blaming it on all kinds of things, but I think I’ve been out of touch with myself. I’m a learner, I always have been. I enjoy finding out new things and becoming good at them (if possible) and then moving on to something else. I need to give myself more time to be me and worry less about doing things for other people.
    6.Which female celebs do you look up to and why?
    I have to say I’m not a big fan of celebs, the people I look up to are people I know. Those who have gone through tough times and come through the other side stronger. Those who are a complete inspiration to me are my friends.

  11. Pingback: Tweets that mention Miss Polkadot’s Kick Arse Females | Mon Polkadot Cheri -- Topsy.com

  12. Pingback: Seeing red | Mon Polkadot Cheri

  13. Katie says:

    What a lovely idea, I can’t wait to see what comes of this 🙂

    1. When are you at your happiest?
    I’m happiest when I’m baking or cooking. There’s something comforting in chopping vegetables. You can really lose yourself and become immersed in your thoughts 🙂

    2. What is your favorite part of your body?
    This is tough. My eyes I suppose, I’ve been told I have happy eyes 🙂

    3. what are you least confident about? (looks or personality)
    Personality! I think I’m pretty awkward around people I don’t know too well and sometimes people I do. I ramble and often come out with embarrassing and idiotic things and end up over analyzing everything. You can make the most of how you look, but you’re stuck with yourself.

    4. Are you comfortable going to a place where no-one knows you?
    Yes and no. You can be anyone when nobody knows who you are but its easy to become paranoid in such a situation. I’m forever convinced that that group of girls in he corner are whispering about me and only me!

    5. What would you like to improve on about yourself?
    To be more relaxed in one on one social situations without the need for a glass of wine.

    6. Which female celebs do you look up to and why?
    Nigella Lawson. She’s everything I want to be and more!

  14. Pingback: Sunday Smile- ooooweeeeooooo | Mon Polkadot Cheri

Leave a Reply

