Why I wont be a “Fashion bitch”- guest post by Nikki Nakki Lou

Time for another guest post, today it is the turn of Nikki from Nikki Nakki Lou. As is often the case nowadays we met through Twitter and have since become great friends, today she writes about the current trend to slag off other bloggers and their style.

Why I won’t be a fashion Bitch

As a fashion blogger I am aware that ‘fashion’ and ‘style’ are often a matter of opinion. I may love and blog about an item that you find repulsive. The whole point of me blogging is to blog about things that I like, that I want to share with others.

We all have opinions on what others wear, especially what celebrities wear, and what we consider to be in fashion and what we don’t. We all like to scrutinise and judge, even if we don’t openly do it. There are magazines that thrive on pictures of celebs looking bad. After all, it’s just a bit of fun, isn’t it?

But is this nitpicking of the way others look really ‘just a bit of fun’ or is the bitchy side of fashion getting ugly? Would you like to be on the receiving end of such scrutiny?

Personally, I’m not really a fan of the type of magazines that do the whole ‘red ring of shame’ type items, and whilst I do have thoughts of WTF sometimes (as we all do) I make an effort not to blog about it. I made the decision not to do negative items when I started the blog, and have thus far stuck to this. I really don’t want my blog to rely on being negative and slagging other people off.

I am not by any means saying that I am perfect (far from it!) but I try my best not to fall into the trap of becoming a ‘holier than thow’ blogger, looking down my nose at people. If anything, I would rather help people who are looking for style advice rather than tear shreds off them.

Today, I was inspired to write this post as I clicked on a link someone posted on twitter that horrified me. The link was to an article about a blogger who basically just does posts slagging off fashion bloggers, in quite a nasty way. I find this a cheap and nasty way of doing things, and I really don’t see the point in dedicating a whole site to being horrible to people who put their time and passion into their blogs.

For me, the fashion blogging community has brought me to be in contact with some of the nicest people I have ever encountered. They do what they do because they love it, and they put a lot of themselves into what they do. To pick at that and be negative about it just seems alien to me…as the old adage says ‘if you haven’t got anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.’

Sadly this blog is not a lone voice on the web. Sadly there are other blogs and Facebook groups that are along the same lines.
I am passionate about fashion and I love blogging and have nothing but respect for my fellow bloggers. I refuse to take the easy route and just become another fashion bitch. I would rather invest my time writing about the things I love.
All images by Ed Polish & Darren Wotz from google images.
Sidenote from Nikki- I would like to thank Rachel for giving me an opportunity to guest post. I am quite honoured that she thinks I’m a good enough blogger to do so! I also hope that you don’t think that this post is preachy or moany, I just wanted to open up a discussion of something I have come across of late…
What do you guys think on the issue then?

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Guest posts, Two-penneth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why I wont be a “Fashion bitch”- guest post by Nikki Nakki Lou

  1. I almost hurt my neck from nodding so much. I completely agree!

  2. Well said.
    People can think what they want about the blogs of others- we can’t stop them. But actually publicly writing these thoughts- I just don’t get the people who do it.
    I do try to keep my blog very positive. Sometimes if I’m posting about something that I like in one way, but also has something negative I feel I have to say so. Like the Louis Vuitton windows which are mainly fabulous and creative, but also use fur which I personally don’t approve of; so I don’t feel I can write about them without saying so or else it looks like I do approve. But there have to be more positive things to say than negative for me to blog about something.

    Florrie x

  3. Nikki says:

    totally agree with the constructive criticism in your case florrie, the fur thing obviously strays into moral territory. i just don’t like the bitchy nature of certain bloggers.
    sorry i nearly made you loose your head corrine!

    nikki xxx

Leave a Reply

