the rise of the awkward girl

I’m not sure when this happened but it seems the elegant hollywood starlet magazines used to flock for has been replaced by a new species; one alot less well to do, with less credibility and ofcourse who don’t seem to smile very often.

Introducing the awkward girl. that’s right Alexa, Peaches and Kristen step forward. These are just three awkward girls but they seem to be the most influential. Each have their own annoying add on too- Geldof with her rich kid status, Stewart her lack of personality and Chung well she’s “perfect”

I put perfect in ” ” there because that’s how she’s percieved, she has amazing style, she’s so bubbly and she’s a down to earth girl.

I guess girls like Alexa Chung because her look is easily attainable; rough your hair up, put on something that makes you look indie and include a nice bag. But is this really how girls want to be seen nowadays? like they woke up that way? I don’t, if I wanted to be noticed I’ll make myself look presentable. A bit of makeup, a hairbrush and clothes that flatter your figure aren’t evil.

I’ve never advocated dressing for others but I can honestly say that if I were to dress like I’d thrown on the first thing in my wardrobe every day and that I hadn’t brushed my hair I’d only make myself feel worse about my appearance. So how on earth are these women classed as a modern day feminists?!

As mentioned in my post for The Ceiling feminism is changing, it’s no longer about needing to be better than men and not pander to them in ways such as showing yourself as a sexual person. A modern feminist succeeds in her field and empowers overs to do the same. She does not liberate women and in my eyes gives them false hope “oh I can look like Alexa” No, because although she dresses like one, she does not have the bank balance of one. Those designer indie threads.

I guess at heart I belong in 40’s and 50’s Hollywood can’t we dress like this?

NB Rita Hayworth is my current 40’s crush

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in Celeb view, Fashion, Two-penneth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the rise of the awkward girl

  1. Claire says:

    :O

    Lack of personality? Fie! You leave Ms Stewart alone! *shakes fist*

    I’ll grant you, these ladies do often have pretty atrocious posture.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention the rise of the awkward girl | Mon Polkadot Cheri -- Topsy.com

  3. Leia says:

    I agree with you Rach! I’m a 40s/50s girl at heart too. In terms of fashion, that is.

  4. Rachel says:

    Claire- sorry but she has the same expression in everything she does!
    Leia- I’d much rather dress like audrey, rita, grace or marilyn!

Leave a Reply

