Pride- you’re “doing it” wrong

I’m sure alot of you actually won’t believe that I have been holding off the following opninion piece/rant for a full day now but trust me I’ve done well so far. I think the title will become apparent in a moment but I’d like to thank claire for coming up with it, she too shared my rage.

Yesterday I witnessed something on Tumblr which deeply angered me, one of my friends admitted proudly, quite justly, that she’d waited until she was 19 until she was 19 to lose her virginity as she wanted it to mean something. The barrage of abuse she recieved after this was ridiculous; many people didn’t believe, their excuse being that she was “too good looking”.

This was the point I really couldn’t get past, do young people really think that others hold onto their virginity for so long because the opposite/same gender don’t want to have sex with them?! What about the girls themselves actually making the decision themselves not to have sex because they don’t feel ready or actually want to wait to be with someone who they care about.

It seems to me that teenage girls can’t seem to go right in other peoples eyes in terms of losing their virginity, if they do it with a guy that means nothing just to say they’ve done it they’re labelled cheap, a slag or far worse. but if they wait they’re known as frigid or their are suspicions as to why they haven’t just had sex already like it’s a bad thing

Now as I have family who read this blog I can neither confirm or deny my own personal experiences but I definately advocate that sex should be more than a meaningless fumble, especially your first time and girls should never feel ashamed to admit that they’re actually proud to have some respect for their body’s

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Two-penneth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pride- you’re “doing it” wrong

  1. I don’t even know where to start with this, suffice to say, I agree with you!

    It is beyond insulting that people think it’s about looks. I hope your friend sticks to her guns and doesn’t listen to anything other than her beliefs.

  2. Sammie says:

    Rachel,

    This made my heart swell a ridiculous amount.

    Thank you for writing this!

  3. Rachel says:

    Bangs- I know it’s disgusting
    Sammie- you’re welcome sweets

  4. Amy says:

    I agree wholeheartedly. Absolutely, utterly wholeheartedly.

Leave a Reply

