Squashy flowers and pearls

I can’t believe I’m saying this but yesterday I finished making my first piece for my college course.  As you might remember the project brief was “this is me” to think about all the things you love and in an abstract way create a piece that symbolises you.

I started with my love for vintage fashion and that I was brought up by my Grandparents, leading me to the 1950s

From that I realised I preferred the hollywood glam of the 50’s as opposed to the harsh post war era in england

I realised that I couldn’t make a big dress or skirt in a few weeks with only a lesson every monday so began focussing on corsages and head pieces from the time

I loved the use of flowers and bows and lace

After seeing this image by my lovely friend Sarah “rose and pearl” inspired by the line “I wasn’t born for the rose and pearl” from Wicked , I myself was inspired to draw and design pieces encorperating the delicateness of flowers with pearls.

After exploring different techiques to create flowers and different fabrics I created a corsage which I think expresses who I am.

Sorry for the quality, so here’s my corsage. I used sheer fabric, a silky material and cotton from some old curtains to make the flowers. The pearl beads are from a necklace which snapped. I bleached the cotton then added blue ink to make it more vibrant.

I have two more weeks left at college in which time I hope to make a headpiece and finish my portfolio.

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in Exclusives/ Firstlooks, Fashion, Random Babbling, Two-penneth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Squashy flowers and pearls

  1. Carla says:

    Ooh your peices look wonderful – you’ll HAVE to make me one 🙂 xxxxx

  2. Pingback: Squashy flowers and pearls « PolkaDot Stripes | Baltimore Pearls

  3. Maria says:

    I think that is absolutely gorgeous! I know exactly what you mean with the 5os glamour too, I love it! 🙂

    Maria xxx

  4. Pingback: It’s all in the detail | Mon Polkadot Cheri

Leave a Reply

