bargains, freebies and vintage oh my!

I’ve come to realise that my posts are getting more and more sporadic but seriously I am soooo busy right now just getting my editorial work out there etc- fingers in pies, fingers in pies– but all will be revealed in time and I will of course still be posting my little bits and pieces and maybe even more opinion pieces.

Anyway here’s the shopping and some freebies –new favourite thing about writing or what?!– lets go!

The bargains

Summer well and truly arrived this weekend and after trawling my wardrobe I realised how few summer clothes I have. And I’ve noticed that Primark is getting a lot of bashing lately about how it means everyone dresses the same. I think it all depends on your look and whether you actually strive to be different to be honest.

How cute is this horse printed dress? It’s from Primark as the little rant above suggests and is so comfy, but also Very short!

After buying some daisy duke style shorts last week I realised that as they were a a purpley blue colour I couldn’t really wear them with solid coloured vests so this floral peasant top was perfect. Again it’s from Primark

And I’ve just realised I missed Florals For Florrie, so yeah here it is!

I love playsuits, I think they’re so fun and can be worn with tights, leggings  or bare legged. This navy polkadot one is from Internacionale, which isn’t somewhere I go in often but it really paid off.

Sorry the last two aren’t outfit shots, I think I was given food poisoning at lunchtime and don’t look very well.

The Freebies

Before I start this and come across as a spoilt divaish writer I would like to point out that I either worked hard or won these in a giveaway.

Oooo shiny pink package! I was one of the winners of the A|wear festival essentials giveaway so here are my goodies.

  • a gorgeous shopper/ beach bag which polkadots, nautical stripes and a leather girly bow
  • some nivea moisturiser tubs, which- if I’d been going to any fest- would’ve been perfect for the dry skin that always seems to get worse in the summer
  • A|wear pink, orange and purple striped scarf and bulky beads
  • a Fluff bee coin purse
  • fake tan, I will personally never use this because I’m proud of being so pale but hey ho!
  • The tastiest lipbalm ever! It’s mint chocolate cupcake flavour and I have to admit I did put it on a few times during the day just to lick it off.

I was over the moon when this little prezzie from VintageNKitsch came through the post today. It’s a gorgeous Alice in Wonderland filagree necklace, which I think is no longer listed but have a looksy at the other gems

The Vintage

My lovely friend Amy runs a creative writing course at the Lit & Phil library in Newcastle so I went along yesterday and had a really nice time, the girls are so funny and each one has a different writing style to the next. After the class myself and Amy went for a spot of vintage shopping and then a catch up and a bit of people watching in Starbucks.

I got this stunning vintage 80’s power dress from Best Vintage, the top part is dogtooth and is ruched in the middle, maybe a little bit big though so I accessorised it with a belt that I’ve had forever.

My sister likened it to the style of our old secondary school Head of House- and if you went to Redhouse and remember Mrs Clark you’ll now this isn’t a compliment- but I like it!

Watch out for my next post where I reveal a new venture and a new feature

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Floral's for Florrie, I love local Vintage, Recommendations, What I'm wearing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to bargains, freebies and vintage oh my!

  1. Leia says:

    LOVE that first dress! And all your new goodies!

Leave a Reply

