Pigeons and Peacocks

It’s no secret that I would love to study at London College of Fashion, this morning I recieved what I thought would be a prospectus.

Instead it was this

I actually requested a copy of their magazine Pigeons and Peacocks as it turns out all course information is available online.

Leafing through the magazine I was very impressed, It is all put together by students and staff and had some great features. I was seriously impressed that all these contributers were students; the layout, styling, features, interviews and photographs all had their own unique slant on them. It was nothing like commercial magazines. They had  hard hitting articles about the end of the nuclear family and the rise in cosmetic surgery in order to look “perfect”.

The star interviews were with Lulu Guinness and Lauren Lavern discussing being passionate about your career in fashion. And Caryn Franklin; Clothes Show presenter and of course iconic editor of i-D magazine in the 80’s. Caryn discusses what it was like to start out in fashion in a time before technology and the differences now.

The most of the back half of the magazines was dedicated to fantastic photo shoots all done by the students, they were all awe-inspiring. The very last few pages though were written by regular columnists and again they featured a diverse range of subjects, but this time it felt more accurate to uni students.

You can request a copy of Pigeons and Peacocks for free HERE

As I finished reading it dawned on me; in two of three years time I could be writing for this magazine, and whilst I’m still sceptical about it I have to admit I hope I get there.

About Rachel Charlton-Dailey

PR girl, gin lover and happy soul.
This entry was posted in I love that shoot, Recommendations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pigeons and Peacocks

  1. kerri. says:

    you’ll definitley get there darling. you’re amazing like that ❤
    love you lots x

  2. IdaPida says:

    i know you have it in you darling!
    i have so much faith in you making it there and you are going to be great!

    you’re my little fashionista remember?

  3. Amanda says:

    what a beautiful magazine, for your continued inspiration and fashion prowess I have awarded you my Sunshine Blog Award.
    See here for information http://uniquelysnowflake.blogspot.com
    Amanda.x.

  4. Emily says:

    I got my copy of this – after reading this post – on Friday and read it last night! Loved it! So good luck getting there – would be so cool! I’m sure you can do it – if your blog is anything to go by!! xx

  5. Leota Carman says:

    Heya i got to your site by mistake when i was searching bing for something off topic here but i do have say your site is really helpful, like the theme and the content on here…so thanks for me procrastinating from my previous task, lol

  6. I love this post, and hope to study at the London College of Fashion next year to study Fashion Journalism, I wrote about my open day, you might find it interesting 🙂

    http://collegegirl93.wordpress.com/my-encounter-at-the-london-college-of-fashion/

    Collegegirl93 xoxo

    • Rachel says:

      Thanks sweets, Im unsure as to whether I want to move away for uni to london now. it still seems amazing though

Leave a Reply

